Skip to main content.

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committees

The Office of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion at KU Medical Center has several committees in place to ensure that the university is continuously committed to creating and maintaining a diverse and inclusive learning and working environment.

Diversity & Inclusion Committee

The Diversity & Inclusion committee focuses its attention on approaches to improve the feeling of inclusiveness among our employees and learners and increase campus representation of diverse individuals based on the KU Medical Center diversity core value statement. This will include policy development, as well as leading initiatives for campus-wide DEI training. The committee also coordinates the Vice Chancellor’s DEI Award Ceremony and updates the KU Medical Center Diversity Core Value statement.

Co-Chairs: Julie Galliart and Millicent Odhiambo

  • Marcus Alt
  • Danielle Binion
  • Andrea Brown
  • In-Young Choi
  • Rachel DiTeresi
  • Lynn Fisher
  • Julie Galliart
  • Natalie Holick
  • LaShawnda House
  • Tiffany Johnson
  • Sandra Lepping
  • Larry Long
  • Colleen Loo-Gross
  • Barb Manning
  • Jerrihlyn McGee
  • Millicent Odhiambo
  • Michelle Redmond
  • Heather Rissler
  • Victoria Rosales
  • Kevin Rowald
  • Carolyn Savioz
  • Neena Sharma
  • Danyele Shelton
  • Dawn Shew
  • Tyler Swett
  • Sammy Tayiem
  • Leslee Taylor
  • Kimberly Templeton
  • Cyn Ukoko
  • Philip Wilhauk
  • Deana Wilhoite
  • Frances Yang

Health Equity & Community Engagement Committee

Health Equity & Community Engagement brings together community members, clinicians, students, faculty and other stakeholders who are passionate about sustainable solutions that fosters health equity and improved health outcomes using community-based, population-level initiatives.

Co-Chairs: Jason Glenn and Jill Peltzer

  • Bradley Barth
  • Shelley Bhattacharya
  • Danielle Binion
  • Andrea Brown
  • In-Young Choi
  • Cecile Gadson
  • Julie Galliart
  • Katherine Garrity
  • Jason Glenn
  • Joseph Hines
  • Tanya Honderick
  • Jerry Jones
  • Richard Korentager
  • Hope Krebill
  • Rebecca Lepping
  • Barb Manning
  • Marielena Marroquin
  • Jerrihlyn McGee
  • Todd Moore
  • Bob Moser
  • Akinlolu Ojo
  • Christina Pacheco
  • Jill Peltzer
  • Gigi Siers
  • Sharla Smith
  • Manuel Solano
  • Lynette Sparkman-Barnes
  • Ashley Spaulding
  • Bea Swoopes
  • Frieda Tresvan
  • Carol Ulloa
  • Eric Vidoni
  • Kimberly Weaver

Metrics & Best Practices Committee

The Metrics & Best Practices committee serves as an infrastructural resource to DEI efforts by helping to determine the most efficient ways to manage data, standardize procedures and inform overall best practices for DEI. Members seek to provide user-friendly tools for the DEI cabinet, committees and all KU Medical Center stakeholders achieve the goals outlined in the KU Medical Center strategic plan, diversity core value statement, DEI framework and DEI strategic initiatives (PDF login required).

Co-Chairs: Julius Leary and Sarah Velasquez

  • Abiodun Akinwuntan
  • Michelle Augustin
  • Danielle Binion
  • Andrea Brown
  • Niranji Dopa Pathirage
  • Chris Harper
  • Bobbie Laincz
  • Julius Leary
  • Barb Manning
  • Dorris Mbogo
  • Jerrihlyn McGee
  • Maggie Messplay
  • Raj Mitra
  • Nellie Modaress
  • Zahra Nasrazadani
  • Jaime Perales Puchalt
  • Tessa Rohrberg
  • Anna Scheid
  • Matt Schuette
  • Amber Styles
  • Olivia Veatch
  • Sarah Velasquez

Programming Committee

The Programming committee facilitates, sponsors or co-sponsors, tracks and assesses educational programming, community conversations and unconscious bias training in order to support KU Medical Center’s DEI mission, vision and strategic goals for all KU Medical Center campuses, partners, community members, and collaborators near and far. When appropriate and possible, CE/CME/CNE credit is available.

Co-Chairs: Danyele Shelton and Alexa Smith

  • Maria Alonso Luaces
  • Danielle Binion
  • Kristina Bridges
  • Andrea Brown
  • Kimberly Connelly
  • Dianne Durham
  • Babalola Faseru
  • Lynn Fisher
  • Ryan Gove
  • Lucy Kollhoff
  • Rebecca Lepping
  • Barb Manning
  • Erin Manuel
  • Jerrihlyn McGee
  • Elizabeth Muenks
  • Crystal Nevins
  • Samuel Ofei-Dodoo
  • Jeff Radel
  • Stacie Rader
  • Jamie Rees
  • Danyele Shelton
  • Gigi Siers
  • Alexa Smith
  • LesLee Taylor
  • Donna Vandivier
  • Mary Beth Warren
  • Chari Young

If you are interested in joining a committee, please contact the Office for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion at

Office for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

University of Kansas Medical Center
Diversity, Equity and Inclusion
Mailstop 2015
3901 Rainbow Boulevard
Kansas City, KS 66160
Phone: 913-588-3319
Fax: 913-588-1412