Skip to main content.


Recognition of faculty and staff from across the KU School of Medicine

Christopher Crenner, M.D., Ph.D.
Christopher Crenner, M.D., Ph.D.

Christopher Crenner, M.D., Ph.D., Robert Hudson and Ralph Major Professor of the History and Philosophy of Medicine and chair of the Department of History and Philosophy of Medicine, was selected for the prestigious Michael E. DeBakey Fellowship to support historical research in medicine.

Robert D. Simari, M.D.,, executive vice chancellor at the University of Kansas Medical Center and Franklin E. Murphy Professor in Cardiology, was appointed to the Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME), the accrediting body for MD-granting medical education programs in the United States and Canada in 2018. He was nominated vice-chair of the LCME in 2020-21 and will serve as chair in 2021-22.

Jessica Kalender-Rich, M.D., FACP, associate professor of Geriatric Medicine at KU Medical Center and practicing physician, has been named to the Coronavirus Commission for Safety and Quality in Nursing Homes. This commission consists of a national panel of experts charged with developing recommendations for protecting vulnerable populations form the spread of COVID-19 in nursing facilities.

Three school of medicine faculty were honored with the 2020 Chancellor’s Distinguished Teaching Award: Joanna V. Brooks, Ph.D., MBE, assistant professor, Department of Population Health; Julie A. Christianson, Ph.D., associate professor, Department of Anatomy and Cell Biology; and Stephen D. Tarver, M.D., associate professor, Department of Anesthesiology. This notable award recognizes faculty who exemplify the university’s commitment to outstanding teaching.

Jeffrey Burns, M.D., Edward H. Hashinger Professor of Medicine in the Department of Neurology, co-director of the KU Alzheimer’s Disease Center, and director of the Frontiers Clinical and Translational Science Unit, was named the 2020 Chancellor’s Club Research Award recipient.

Julie A. Carlsten Christianson, Ph.D., associate professor of anatomy and cell biology, is the recipient of the 2020 Edward and Thelma Wohlgemuth Faculty Scholar Award. The award provides research and salary assistance to non-tenured faculty members who are recognized as some of KU's brightest young professors.

Sharla Smith, Ph.D., MPH, assistant professor in population health, has been named the 2020 Doris Kerr Larkins “Rising Star” for her perseverance, achievements and impact in preventive medicine and public health. This honor is awarded by the Kansas African American Museum.

Giulia A. Bonaminio, Ph.D., senior associate dean for medical education and research professor in family medicine and community health, was bestowed the highest honor from the International Association of Medical Science Educators (IAMSE) last month, the Edward Patrick Finnerty Lifetime Achievement Award. The awardee is selected by the IAMSE Board of Directors to honor a member who has continually dedicated themselves to leadership and service in efforts to advance the missions of the organization over time.

Edward J. Lind, M.D., volunteer clinical assistant professor in the Department of Family and Community Medicine-Wichita, was presented with the American Academy of Family Physicians 2020 Exemplary Teaching Award, volunteer category.

Tiffany Schwasinger-Schmidt, M.D., Ph.D., was promoted to fellow of the American College of Physicians. This honorary distinction recognizes exceptional, ongoing contributions furthering continuing education in medical practice, teaching, or research.

KU School of Medicine

University of Kansas Medical Center
3901 Rainbow Boulevard
Kansas City, KS 66160