Skip to main content.


Recognition of faculty and staff from across the KU School of Medicine

Michael Kennedy, M.D.
Michael Kennedy, M.D.

Michael Kennedy, M.D., professor of family medicine and associate dean for rural health education (pictured left), was honored with the National Rural Health Association's (NHRA) Outstanding Educator Award. The NHRA gives this award to educators who have made lasting impacts on rural health.

Three KU School of Medicine faculty are the recipients of the 2019 Chancellor’s Distinguished Teaching Awards, selected by a committee of medical center faculty and students. The awardees are Shelby Fishback, M.D., associate professor in the Department of Radiology; Michael Kennedy, M.D., professor in the Department of Family Medicine, and David Naylor, M.D., assistant professor in the Department of Internal Medicine.

Sid Sivamurthy, M.D., received an award in the pediatrician category for Hero Honors from Wichita's Littlest Heroes Sivamurthy is an associate professor in the Department of Pediatrics at the KU School of Medicine‒Wichita.

Gary Gronseth, M.D., was named chair and clinical service chief of the Department of Neurology effective immediately. He served as interim chair since July 2017 and interim clinical service chief since July 2016.

Sachin Srinivasan, M.D., an internal medicine resident, was selected as one of the 2019 American Association for the Study of Liver Disease’s Emerging Liver Scholars. Srinivasan is among 40 young physicians in the program who will attend The Liver Meeting in Bostonin November 2019.

Kevin Ault, M.D., professor and division director in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, was appointed to the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP) by Health and Human Services Secretary Alex M. Azar II. This federal committee is part of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and formulates vaccine policy for the United States.

Trent Davis, M.D., a faculty member at the KU School of Medicine‒Salina, is now the mayor of Salina, Kansas. The Salina City Commission voted unanimously in January to elect Davis to the two-year position. Davis is a member of the commission and had served as vice-mayor.

KU School of Medicine

University of Kansas Medical Center
3901 Rainbow Boulevard
Kansas City, KS 66160